Book Review: All My Restless Life to Live by Dee DeTarsio

I received a copy of All My Life to Live by Dee DeTarsio in exchange for an honest review.

all my restless life to liveSummary:

Life is a soap opera, especially for Elle Miller, who writes for one. (Ellen dropped the “n” in her name in hopes of finding a better ending for herself.) When her laptop crashes, she borrows her recently deceased dad’s computer and gets way more than she bargained for.

Elle unravels mysterious communications from his computer, while her mom decides to give Internet dating a try. As Elle tries to save her career at I’d Rather Be Loved with a storyline featuring a trip through Atlantis, she takes a trip to the Emmys, and finds herself in the middle of a romance between a real doctor and a hunk who just plays one on TV. Friends, family, and clues from “the other side” all help Elle figure out the difference between living the good life and living a good life.

Fans of Marian Keyes and Jennifer Weiner will delight in Dee DeTarsio’s sparkling prose and lively dialogue as she takes readers into the heart of women’s lives. Filled with friendship, love, loss, betrayal, and challenges that force her characters to find their place in the universe, Dee’s novels give us that hopefully-ever-after we’re searching for.

Review:

I have been a big fan of DeTarsio’s for a while now, and I’m always excited to read her books. I love the fantasy aspect that she brings to each one, and this was no different. Elle, a writer for a soap opera, is still struggling with the death of her dad. When she “borrows” his computer from her mother, she starts to see signs from the beyond. She thinks her dad is trying to help her through her complicated love life and trials from her job. I enjoy opening my mind to new ideas, such as getting these signs from the other side. It was fun to read her story, and the supporting cast was really a hoot. From her mother and her boyfriend to her best friend to her boss, all the characters were interesting and really pretty comical. I liked the romance aspect and the sort of tug a war she gets into between a doctor and the actor who plays a doctor. The ending was very sweet and a good way to wrap up the mystery of her father. If you haven’t read any of her books yet, I highly recommend you start!

4 stars

Be Sociable, Share!

4 Comments

  1. August 13, 2013 / 8:21 am

    I’ve heard of this book, it sounds great. Good review, adding it to my list!

  2. August 13, 2013 / 9:24 am

    Hi Samantha! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing All My Restless Life to Live! I love your thoughts on it! I hope you are having a great summer and enjoying the countdown to your wedding! Enjoy every moment! Take care, Dee

  3. Samantha
    August 13, 2013 / 9:57 am

    Her books are great Allie !

  4. Samantha
    August 13, 2013 / 9:58 am

    You’re welcome Dee and thank you so much!

Comments are closed.