#BookReview: The Captain’s Daughter by Meg Mitchell Moore

the captain's daughterAbout the Book

For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub comes an emotionally gripping novel about a woman who returns to her hometown in coastal Maine and finds herself pondering the age-old question of what could have been

Growing up in Little Harbor, Maine, the daughter of a widowed lobsterman, Eliza Barnes could haul a trap and row a skiff with the best of them. But she always knew she’d leave that life behind. Now that she’s married, with two kids and a cushy front-row seat to suburban country club gossip in an affluent Massachusetts town, she feels adrift.

When her father injures himself in a boating accident, Eliza pushes the pause button on her own life to come to his aid. But when she arrives in Maine, she discovers her father’s situation is more dire than he let on. Eliza’s homecoming is further complicated by the reemergence of her first love–and memories of their shared secret. Then Eliza meets Mary Brown, a seventeen-year-old local who is at her own crossroad, and Eliza can’t help but wonder what her life would have been like if she’d stayed.

Filled with humor, insight, summer cocktails, and gorgeous sunsets, THE CAPTAIN’S DAUGHTER is a compassionate novel about the life-changing choices we make and the consequences we face in their aftermath.

My Review

Just reading the summary had me drawn into the story, and from the first chapter I knew I was going to really enjoy this offering from Meg Mitchell Moore. I loved the vivid writing, the picture-esque settings, and the emotional pull all the way through the novel. I was intrigued by all the POVs we got, in particular Eliza and also her husband. It was also interesting to read Mary’s story and how closely she becomes involved with Eliza and her family, and there were several scenes in here that actually quite shocked me. This was a very emotional read but also a very powerful story, and one I would highly recommend.

5 stars

Be Sociable, Share!

1 Comment

  1. September 5, 2017 / 3:05 pm

    Hi there, this looks like a goodie. Please bring this over to Books You Loved: September so everyone can see it. Cheers from Carole’s Chatter

Comments are closed.