Novel Spotlight: An Unsuitable Marriage by Colette Dartford

an unsuitable marriageAbout the Book

Could your marriage survive the ultimate betrayal? The emotional story of a family under pressure, perfect for fans of Joanna Trollope and Hilary Boyd.

Olivia had everything – a loving husband in Geoffrey, a thoughtful and intelligent son in Edward and a beautiful home in the Somerset countryside.

But all that changed when Geoffrey’s business went under. Now penniless and homeless, Geoffrey is living with his recently widowed mother, whilst Olivia has been forced to work as a housemistress at her son’s elite boarding school.

With their marriage under intolerable strain, Geoffrey makes a mistake – one that has devastating consequences for the guilty and innocent alike . . .

Colette Dartford Headshot2About the Author

A Londoner by birth, Colette Dartford went to university in Bath and made it her home. A scholarship to undertake a doctorate led to a career in health and social research, before she moved to California’s Napa Valley. Here she studied Viticulture and Enology and wrote her debut novel.

 

Top 5 writing tips

  1. Read a lot, and well beyond your own genre. I write commercial women’s fiction and it would be so easy for me to read nothing else, not least because I love it. But much can be learned from other genres—plotting from crime, tension from thrillers, a sense of place from historical novels—and reading them can make you a better writer.
  1. When you sit down to write, banish the censorious voice in your head. You know the one I mean—it tells you you’re wasting your time, your work is rubbish, it will never get published, no-one will ever want to read it. That voice is the enemy and if you listen to it, you will be defeated.
  1. You may have taken some writing courses, or read books about how to write a novel, but if you want to stimulate your creative juices, try to write freely rather than dwelling on the ‘rules.’ You can tidy your work up later (see below), but while you are in full flow, it’s best not to get bogged down by ‘dos and don’ts.’
  1. Don’t be discouraged by the quality of your first draft. Even bestselling, prize winning authors confess that their first drafts are dreadful. Think of your first draft as you telling the story to yourself. It’s a starting point—the bones from on which to flesh out your novel.
  1. If your goal is to be published and you have a manuscript that you’ve revised as much as possible, the next step is to get professional feedback. There are a lot of reputable literary consultancies that provide editorial critiques, which can dramatically improve your work.

My final, and perhaps most important writing tip, is to simply enjoy it.

Blog tour banner - An Unsuitable Marriage FINAL

 

 

Release Day: Plan Cee by Hilary Grossman

plan ceeAbout the Book

Would you abandon your present for a second chance at your past?

Cecelia Reynolds has spent most of her life trying to forget the commitment-phobic man who broke her heart. It wasn’t easy, but eventually she did it, or so she thought…

As Cecelia and her husband gather for a friend’s wedding, her perfect world is thrown into complete turmoil. Even though it’s been twenty years since she last laid eyes on Keith Emerson, all it takes is one glance for her to feel emotions she thought were long gone. When Keith ends up officiating the ceremony, she quickly realizes his message of love is directed at her, not the happy couple. But can she believe him?

We live our entire lives thinking we know ourselves. But do we ever really?

As secrets and lies cause Cecelia’s world to spin completely out of control, she is forced to seek advice from the most unlikely ally. In the process, she must confront the demons of her past and the events that shaped her into the woman she is now. Will she finally learn the real meaning of love, friendship, and family?

While this book is a sequel to Plan Bea, it also reads as a standalone.

Get Your Copy! getBook.at/PlanCee

HilarygrossmanAbout the Author

By day, Hilary Grossman works in the booze biz. By night she hangs out with her “characters.” She has an unhealthy addiction to denim and high heel shoes. She’s been known to walk into walls and fall up stairs. She only eats spicy foods and is obsessed with her cat, Lucy. She loves to find humor in everyday life. She likens life to a game of dodge ball – she tries to keep many balls in the air before they smack her in the face. She lives on Long Island.

Links –

Blog https://www.feelingbeachie.com

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/HilaryGrossmanAuthor/

Twitter – https://twitter.com/feelingbeachie

Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/hilary_grossman/

BONUS! GET PLAN BEA free!

beafree


a Rafflecopter giveaway

#NewRelease: 15 Minutes by Larissa Reinhart

About the Book
When ex-teen star Maizie
Albright returns to her Southern hometown of Black Pine, Georgia, she hoped to
rid herself of Hollywood tabloid and reality show hell for a new career as a
private investigator. Instead, Hollyweird follows her home. Maizie’s costar
crushing, but now for her gumshoe boss. Her stage-monster mother still demands
screen time. Her latest rival wants her kicked off the set, preferably back to
a California prison.
By entangling herself in a missing person’s case,
she must reprise her most famous role. The job will demand a performance of a
lifetime. But this time, the stakes are real and may prove deadly.

 
Participating Blogs
 
Chick Lit Plus

Bio:
A 2015 Georgia Author of the Year
Best Mystery finalist, Larissa writes the Cherry Tucker Mystery and Maizie
Albright Star Detective series. The first in the Cherry Tucker series, Portrait
of a Dead Guy
, is a 2012 Daphne du Maurier finalist, 2012 The Emily
finalist, and 2011 Dixie Kane Memorial winner. She loves books, food, and travel
in any and all combinations.
Her family and Cairn Terrier,
Biscuit, live in Nagoya, Japan, but they still call Georgia home. You can see
them on HGTV’s House Hunters International “Living for the Weekend in
Nagoya” episode. Visit her
website, find her chatting on Facebook, Instagram, and Goodreads, and sign up for her newsletter at http://smarturl.it/larissanewsletter.
If you enjoy her books, please
leave a review. She sends you virtual hugs and undying gratitude for your
support!
Social Media Links:
Newsletter
signup: http://smarturl.it/larissanewsletter