#BookReview: Girl Last Seen by Nina Laurin

girl last seenAbout the Book

Two missing girls. Thirteen years apart.

Olivia Shaw has been missing since last Tuesday. She was last seen outside the entrance of her elementary school in Hunts Point wearing a white spring jacket, blue jeans, and pink boots.

I force myself to look at the face in the photo, into her slightly smudged features, and I can’t bring myself to move. Olivia Shaw could be my mirror image, rewound to thirteen years ago.

If you have any knowledge of Olivia Shaw’s whereabouts or any relevant information, please contact…

I’ve spent a long time peering into the faces of girls on missing posters, wondering which one replaced me in that basement. But they were never quite the right age, the right look, the right circumstances. Until Olivia Shaw, missing for one week tomorrow.

Whoever stole me was never found. But since I was taken, there hasn’t been another girl.

Review:

This book actually made me sweat. Like, full on, I’m so scared right now, you’re messing with my head, type of sweat. And I loved it. I was recommending this all over social media and was so highly invested I didn’t want to go to my weekly volleyball game when things started getting realllll twisty towards the end. If you can handle a disturbing thriller, get this one, because it will stick with you. I will say if you can’t handle disturbing situations such as child sexual abuse, you need to avoid this one, because the ending gets extremely dark. Absolutely chilling, a book that will keep you up at night, and one I highly recommend if this is your genre.

5 stars

#BookReview: The Summer House by Hannah McKinnon

the summer houseAbout the Book

When Flossy Merrill summons her children to the beloved family beach house to celebrate their father’s eightieth birthday, both cherished memories and long-kept secrets come to light in this charming and lyrical novel from the author of The Lake Season and Mystic Summer. 

Flossy Merrill has managed to—somewhat begrudgingly—gather her three ungrateful grown children from their dysfunctional lives for a summer reunion at the family’s Rhode Island beach house. Clementine, her youngest child and a young mother of two small children, has caused Flossy the most worry after enduring a tragically life-altering year. But Samuel and his partner Evan are not far behind in their ability to alarm: their prospective adoption search has just taken a heart-wrenching turn. Only Paige, the eldest of the headstrong Merrill clan, is her usual self: arriving precisely on time with her well-adapted teens. Little does her family know that she, too, is facing personal struggles of her own.

No matter. With her family finally congregated under one seaside roof, Flossy is determined to steer her family back on course even as she prepares to reveal the fate of the summer house that everyone has thus far taken for granted: she’s selling it. The Merrill children are both shocked and outraged and each returns to memories of their childhoods at their once beloved summer house—the house where they have not only grown up, but from which they have grown away. With each lost in their respective heartaches, Clementine, Samuel, and Paige will be forced to reconsider what really matters before they all say goodbye to a house that not only defined their summers, but, ultimately, the ways in which they define themselves. Featuring McKinnon’s “sharp and evocative” (Kirkus Reviews) voice, this warm-hearted novel is perfect for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Mary Alice Monroe.

My Review

Hooked from the first chapter! The Summer House immediately drew me in and kept me captivated until the end, with the Merrill family and all their drama at the center. From Flossy’s idea to get the family together one last time at their summer home, Clem dealing with the sudden death of her husband, Paige and her faltering marriage, and Sam and his husband trying to adopt a baby, every story touched me in some way. The setting was so well written I could hear the waves and smell the salt, and this novel made me crave for a summer home myself. I breezed through this book and would highly recommend for your summer reading list.

5 stars

#BookReview: Mr. Right-Swipe by Ricki Schultz

mr right swipAbout the Book

Rae Wallace would rather drown in a vat of pinot greezh and be eaten by her own beagle than make another trip down the aisle–even if it is her best friend’s wedding. She’s too busy molding the minds of first graders and polishing that ol’ novel in the drawer to waste time on any man.

But when her best friends stage an intervention, Rae is forced to give in. After all, they’ve hatched a plan to help her find love the 21st century way: online. She’s skeptical of this electronic chlamydia catcher, but she’s out to prove she hasn’t been too picky with men.

However, when a familiar fella’s profile pops up–the dangerously hot substitute teacher from work–Rae swipes herself right into a new problem…

Sarcastic, irreverent, and uproariously funny–the painfully-true, so-insightful-it-hurts kind of funny–Ricki Schultz’s wry debut will speak to fans of Bridesmaids or Trainwreck, and to anyone who’s ever been on a bad date.

My Review

Wow did this book get me hyped! Even though I have very little in common with Rae, I loved this main character. The book has a modern vibe to it, especially with the hashtags that were sprinkled throughout the pages, and I just loved it from beginning to end. A very well-balanced story, each of the plot points was as strong as the other and I breezed through this bubbly read in just over a day. A must-read in my opinion!

5 stars