Novel Spotlight: An Unsuitable Marriage by Colette Dartford

an unsuitable marriageAbout the Book

Could your marriage survive the ultimate betrayal? The emotional story of a family under pressure, perfect for fans of Joanna Trollope and Hilary Boyd.

Olivia had everything – a loving husband in Geoffrey, a thoughtful and intelligent son in Edward and a beautiful home in the Somerset countryside.

But all that changed when Geoffrey’s business went under. Now penniless and homeless, Geoffrey is living with his recently widowed mother, whilst Olivia has been forced to work as a housemistress at her son’s elite boarding school.

With their marriage under intolerable strain, Geoffrey makes a mistake – one that has devastating consequences for the guilty and innocent alike . . .

Colette Dartford Headshot2About the Author

A Londoner by birth, Colette Dartford went to university in Bath and made it her home. A scholarship to undertake a doctorate led to a career in health and social research, before she moved to California’s Napa Valley. Here she studied Viticulture and Enology and wrote her debut novel.

 

Top 5 writing tips

  1. Read a lot, and well beyond your own genre. I write commercial women’s fiction and it would be so easy for me to read nothing else, not least because I love it. But much can be learned from other genres—plotting from crime, tension from thrillers, a sense of place from historical novels—and reading them can make you a better writer.
  1. When you sit down to write, banish the censorious voice in your head. You know the one I mean—it tells you you’re wasting your time, your work is rubbish, it will never get published, no-one will ever want to read it. That voice is the enemy and if you listen to it, you will be defeated.
  1. You may have taken some writing courses, or read books about how to write a novel, but if you want to stimulate your creative juices, try to write freely rather than dwelling on the ‘rules.’ You can tidy your work up later (see below), but while you are in full flow, it’s best not to get bogged down by ‘dos and don’ts.’
  1. Don’t be discouraged by the quality of your first draft. Even bestselling, prize winning authors confess that their first drafts are dreadful. Think of your first draft as you telling the story to yourself. It’s a starting point—the bones from on which to flesh out your novel.
  1. If your goal is to be published and you have a manuscript that you’ve revised as much as possible, the next step is to get professional feedback. There are a lot of reputable literary consultancies that provide editorial critiques, which can dramatically improve your work.

My final, and perhaps most important writing tip, is to simply enjoy it.

Blog tour banner - An Unsuitable Marriage FINAL

 

 

Release Day: Plan Cee by Hilary Grossman

plan ceeAbout the Book

Would you abandon your present for a second chance at your past?

Cecelia Reynolds has spent most of her life trying to forget the commitment-phobic man who broke her heart. It wasn’t easy, but eventually she did it, or so she thought…

As Cecelia and her husband gather for a friend’s wedding, her perfect world is thrown into complete turmoil. Even though it’s been twenty years since she last laid eyes on Keith Emerson, all it takes is one glance for her to feel emotions she thought were long gone. When Keith ends up officiating the ceremony, she quickly realizes his message of love is directed at her, not the happy couple. But can she believe him?

We live our entire lives thinking we know ourselves. But do we ever really?

As secrets and lies cause Cecelia’s world to spin completely out of control, she is forced to seek advice from the most unlikely ally. In the process, she must confront the demons of her past and the events that shaped her into the woman she is now. Will she finally learn the real meaning of love, friendship, and family?

While this book is a sequel to Plan Bea, it also reads as a standalone.

Get Your Copy! getBook.at/PlanCee

HilarygrossmanAbout the Author

By day, Hilary Grossman works in the booze biz. By night she hangs out with her “characters.” She has an unhealthy addiction to denim and high heel shoes. She’s been known to walk into walls and fall up stairs. She only eats spicy foods and is obsessed with her cat, Lucy. She loves to find humor in everyday life. She likens life to a game of dodge ball – she tries to keep many balls in the air before they smack her in the face. She lives on Long Island.

Links –

Blog https://www.feelingbeachie.com

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/HilaryGrossmanAuthor/

Twitter – https://twitter.com/feelingbeachie

Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/hilary_grossman/

BONUS! GET PLAN BEA free!

beafree


a Rafflecopter giveaway

#CoverReveal and Contest: Defining Her by Samantha March

Cover Design By: http://karanandco.com

I am so excited to share the cover reveal of my fifth novel, DEFINING HER. Since releasing my last full-length novel, a lot has happened in my personal life and it definitely affected not only the timing of this book and how long it’s taken me to release, but also the content. This novel is women’s fiction but does contain very adult language and situations, including disturbing scenes. The scenes are contained in the flashback scenes and are not the majority of the novel, but they still do require me to put in that warning. This book changed significantly in the two years I’ve been working on it, but the overall theme remains the same – what defines us? Nellie and Prue are two very different women on very different paths in life, but they ask themselves the same question throughout. I hope you enjoy their story, which will release on Wednesday, March 15.

I am running a special promotion now for paperback pre-orders. If you don’t know, I run a beauty channel on Youtube, which was created when I was in a pretty dark place in my life (and when most of these disturbing scenes were written). It gave me a place to find, not a new, but a different identity. When I started CLP it was to be a blog focused on everything I loved, but quickly turned into solely a book blog when I was told by several people online that I couldn’t talk about books and beauty too. I have a whole article on that subject here: http://chicklitplus.com/behind-the-redesign/ if you’re interested in reading, but in short, my  Youtube channel quickly became an outlet that I loved being on. I was suddenly able to really combine all my passions – books, beauty, and even fitness – across my platforms. And I learned to stand up for myself, and go after what  I wanted without letting the opinions of others force me to doubt myself.

So I wanted to do something special combining both my worlds when it came to the release of DEFINING HER. I’m going to start this contest with the pre-order promotion, and I’m thinking of extending it for the first few weeks of release, but let’s take it one step at a time, all right? For ever five paperback pre-orders that come in, I will draw one giveaway winner. Five orders, 1 winner. Ten orders, 2 winners. And so on. Each winner will receive a surprise package from me and each package will contain books and/or beauty items. I will ask you to check if you are interested in one more than the other (you can check both for a mixture!) if you decide to pre-order, so I can use that as a reference when sending out winning packages. So the contest, starts…RIGHT NOW! If you want to pre-order your copy of DEFINING HER and get entered, please fill out the form below. I will send a PayPal invoice directly to you, so please enter an email you check regularly. After payment is received, your entry will be counted. Books are $10 to purchase, $4 for US shipping, $15 for international shipping. All copies will be signed by me! Print copies will start to be mailed out, first come first served, directly from me as soon as paperbacks are ready, which I estimate to be the first week of March. At some point the printing process does go out of my hands and into Amazon’s so I can’t guarantee that, but I will be providing updates across social media as I have them!

I wanted to do something fun to say thank you. Thank you for buying my books, reading my books, reviewing my books. Thank you for following my blog, watching my videos and the constant support. I have never taken releasing a novel lightly. It’s a group effort, not just me, not just my book editor, not just the cover designer, but to all of you. My family and friends, my readers, my support group. I never want to take my passion for granted, and I hope to be able to give back in my own small way with each release. Book six is currently underway and I would love to release it in 2017, but for right now, all my focus is on my fifth baby. Please keep reading for the full synopsis of DEFINING HER plus how to get entered in the contest. If you are a book blogger and are interested in receiving an ARC copy, you can request that here. I’ll wrap it up here, but a final THANK YOU. Sincerely.

Much Love,

Samantha March

ABOUT DEFINING HER

Nellie Hawthorne is a woman who has it all. A devoted husband, her own business, a wealthy lifestyle. But the Nellie she is now is much different from her past. A past filled with abuse, addiction, and men. Nellie’s carefully constructed new life is suddenly in jeopardy when a blast from the past emerges in her small town and her overbearing mother-in-law starts pushing for grandchildren and questions start being asked. A budding new friendship presents itself at an opportune time, and a once friendless Nellie finds herself growing closer to Prue Doherty.

Prue Doherty is the quintessential good girl. Always making the right decisions, always playing it safe. Until she meets a man that could change all of that. Still reeling from a devastating breakup and betrayal that had her fleeing from Chicago and settling into suburb life with her mom close by, Prue finds herself in a damaging funk. But everything changes when she befriends Nellie Hawthorne.

Nellie is trying to escape her past. Prue wants that perfect future. While both women strive to change their lives, they continue to cling to the past. But what defines us? Who we were then . . . or who we are trying to be now? Lies, manipulation, and deceit are woven throughout the pages of this edgy women’s fiction novel, with an ending you won’t see coming.

All my books are currently on Amazon! 

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Samantha-March/e/B005ZWOGJY