Challenge:Post Reviews:May

May Challenge Reviews

January Review

February Reviews

March Reviews

April Reviews

Please note this is not the sign up page. To sign up, click here

To see what challengers are reading, click here

Only signed up challengers are eligible to win

Prize for May: Two (2) winners will receive a paperback copy of Just Friends With Benefits by Meredith Schorr. One (1) bonus winner will receive a signed paperback copy of A Scottish Ferry Tale by Nancy Volkers. You must post the link to your review in the Mister Linky below. This can be to your blog, GoodReads page, or other sources such as Amazon.

*The May page is now closed*

The winners are:

Just Friends With Benefits- Chanpreet Singh & Jencey Gortney

A Scottish Ferry Tale- Jade @ Sort of Beautiful

Be Sociable, Share!

48 Comments

  1. Chanpreet
    May 4, 2011 / 11:41 pm

    This book started off slow, but I liked the ending. It both let down and exceeded my expectations. Plus the message in “Face Value” by Kathleen Baird-Murray deals with plastic surgery, something that has become commonplace.

  2. sheena
    May 5, 2011 / 6:13 pm

    Halfway through Heaven can Wait by Cally Taylor Lovin it!

  3. May 5, 2011 / 7:09 pm

    I just posted my review of A Scottish Ferry Tale! Such a fun, fun read!!!

  4. May 7, 2011 / 9:21 pm

    I just posted my review of A Scottish Ferry Tale. I’m getting back into chick lit again which has me super stoked.

  5. May 8, 2011 / 6:04 pm

    Review up on blog and on here for Jessica Chambers “Voices on the Waves” Lovedddd this book!!

  6. May 11, 2011 / 6:33 pm

    just posted my review for Goodnight Tweetheart by Teresa Medeiros.

  7. May 12, 2011 / 2:07 pm

    My review for May is ‘Men I’ve Loved Before’ by Adele Parks. I was really looking forward to this as I adore Adele Parks’ novels. Consequently it might be that my expectations ran a little high this time.

    Neil and Nat don’t want children. Ever. Until Neil changes his mind. Ructions occur. Nat seeks solace in her ‘Little Black Book’ looking up ex-lovers in a quest to discover whether marrying Neil – The One – proves to be a case of marrying The Wrong One. But, for me, this is where the story fell down. I was anticipating a lot more drama and input with these ex-lovers. Instead there was very little mentioned about them. Instead Nat analyses herself for pages and pages and pages. She seems to have a personality which goes the full spectrum… from sensible, well-educated businesswoman to a female more screwed up than an un-ironed shirt. Consequently the middle of the book was saggy with too many pages spent trying to keep up with Nat’s meandering mind which had me threatening to lose my marbles. The character Neil tested my patience. It was lovely to read about a man changing his mind over wanting children. And some of Neil’s attempts to persuade Nat to become a mother were heart-warming. But then Neil took to both the bottle and a very expensive habit of visiting strip clubs. This culminated in Neil spending thousands of pounds on one particular private dancer. And that’s when I stopped empathising with Neil. He came across as the last man a woman would be persuaded to have a child with! The characters and storyline eventually rallied, but no sooner was the story back on track it was quickly wrapped up. Thankfully there was a happy ending!

  8. May 13, 2011 / 9:41 pm

    Hi everyone,

    I just posted my review of Something Borrowed (book and movie). In my opinion, the book was better than the movie.

    Nancy

  9. May 13, 2011 / 10:10 pm

    I read Second Time Around by Beth Kendrick. Loved it! I would definitely recommend it to everyone 🙂

  10. Chanpreet
    May 14, 2011 / 6:45 pm

    Sari & Sins by Nisha Minhas is one of those books I wish I could go back in time and not read! It was just underwhelming. 🙁

  11. Jeanine
    May 14, 2011 / 9:38 pm

    Just posted my review for Attachments by Rainbow Rowell. I absolutely loved the book!

  12. May 15, 2011 / 10:37 pm

    I posted up a quick review of Candace Bushnell’s “Summer and the City”.

  13. Chanpreet
    May 16, 2011 / 12:30 am

    Finally got around to reading Getting Personal by Chris Manby. I’m not sure why I kept putting it off!

  14. Chanpreet
    May 16, 2011 / 3:06 pm

    Speechless by Yvonne Collins is a light, entertaining read! It was a great way to pass some free time!

  15. Jen R
    May 16, 2011 / 4:58 pm

    Review of Here, Home, Hope posted!

  16. May 17, 2011 / 7:38 pm

    Have just finished Stand By Me by Shelia O’Flanagan – she is fast becoming one of my favourite authors.

  17. Chanpreet
    May 21, 2011 / 3:44 pm

    I finally read Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin and loved it! It is the first book by her I’ve read, but will not be my last! 🙂

  18. Chanpreet
    May 21, 2011 / 10:13 pm

    In Bed With is an anthology edited by Imogen Edwards-Jones, Jessica Adams, Kathy Lette and Maggiel Alderson. The x-rated pseudonyms are hilarious!

  19. Chanpreet
    May 22, 2011 / 3:48 am

    I am so keeping “The Accidental IT Girl” by Libby Street. I loved this book! I just wish there were more books by them to read! 🙂

  20. faith
    May 22, 2011 / 7:55 pm

    Just posted my review of The Perfect Manhattan. Loved this book

  21. faith
    May 22, 2011 / 8:01 pm

    Just posted my review of How The Other Half Hamptons. My first not so positive review and I feel kinda bad, but didn’t want to “Say, OH I LOVED IT”

  22. Chanpreet
    May 23, 2011 / 1:52 am

    I wish “Dating Games” by Erica Munro had not been such a meh book!

  23. Chanpreet
    May 23, 2011 / 5:44 am

    “Bridemaids” was a great read! I’m looking forward to reading more by Jane Costello!

  24. May 23, 2011 / 10:46 pm

    Finished my first debut author book ! Friendship Bread. This challenge is going fast – I’m almost done.

  25. May 24, 2011 / 6:14 am

    Sorry I didn’t know we were supposed to be leaving comments! At any rate I have another review, The Werewold Upstairs by Ashlyn Chase! Good luck everybody with the challenge!

  26. Chanpreet
    May 24, 2011 / 9:31 pm

    The step-family from “Personally, I Blame my Fairy Godmother” by Claudia Carroll stole the show!

  27. May 25, 2011 / 6:54 pm

    just posted a review for Queen of Babble by Meg Cabot!! great Read!!

  28. Chanpreet
    May 27, 2011 / 7:52 pm

    I read and loved “The Celebrity Mother” by Deborah Wright! I’m keeping this one! 🙂

  29. Chanpreet
    May 28, 2011 / 7:41 pm

    “A Valentine’s Kiss” by Lucie Hart is my second debut author this year, completing my 2011 Chicklitplus Reading Challenge! 🙂

  30. Chanpreet
    May 28, 2011 / 10:11 pm

    “Evening Hours”by Mary Lynn Baxter would’ve been much better in my opinion had the many side story lines been better developed or left out. Maybe had those issues been addressed in a sequel I might have liked the book more.

  31. Chanpreet
    May 29, 2011 / 2:40 am

    I loved “Forget About It” by Caprice Crane! Another keeper!

  32. May 29, 2011 / 3:15 am

    I’ve completed the challenge! One of my favorites BTW!

  33. Chanpreet
    May 29, 2011 / 6:13 am

    “Divine” by Michelle Holman, was simply that, divine! I loved this book! 🙂

  34. Chanpreet
    May 30, 2011 / 12:55 pm

    The anthology by the RNA, “Loves Me, Loves Me Not,” edited by Katie Fforde was an amazing book. There is something in there for every one!

  35. May 31, 2011 / 12:23 am

    Review for:

    My One and Only
    by Kristin Higgins

    Oh, Kristin Higgins, how I love thee…Kristin is on my automatic read list. As soon as she comes out with a new book, I read it ASAP. I’ve loved everything I’ve ever read by her and My One and Only is no exception.

    It had all the trademarks of a great Kristin Higgins book: 1. Awesome romance 2. The heroine has a great pet, in this case a very sweet little dog that travels with her 3. Well-developed subplots involving family. 4. A subtle message of faith woven throughout, in this case the heroine (a divorce attorney) is close friends with a priest

    My One and Only begins with the most hilariously awful marriage proposal of all time. Things go downhill for the heroine from then on, until she is forced on a cross country roadtrip with her ex-husband.

    I highly recommend this book as the perfect summer read, especially if you’re on a roadtrip!!!!

  36. Chanpreet
    May 31, 2011 / 1:15 am

    I loved “Wicked Games” by Sasha Wagstaff! I will finally read her first book “Changing Grooms” soon and am REALLY looking forward to reading her new book “Heaven Scent”!

  37. May 31, 2011 / 11:05 am

    Sorry to be posting so late! I’ve only just finished the lovely Milly Johnson’s ‘Here Come the Girls’. Four ladies have been friends since school. One is about to hit the Big Four Oh. And she wants to celebrate in style. As school kids, they had made a vow to take a cruise together one day. Various circumstances (won’t spoil it for you!) come into play and this happens. But as the women sail the high seas, they find themselves re-evaluating life, loves, losses and second chances. Written with warmth and humour, it made me laugh and cry. Definitely recommend.

  38. Chanpreet
    May 31, 2011 / 9:44 pm

    “Ladies’ Night” is an anthology published in 2005, with the benefits going to two charities, War Child and No Strings International.

  39. June 1, 2011 / 2:51 pm

    Sorry I’m late! I promise I’ll be better next time :). Love reading everyone else’s reviews!

  40. Chanpreet
    June 3, 2011 / 2:42 am

    Wow! Congratulations Jencey and Jade! This is unexpected. There were some great reviews this month!

  41. Stephanie
    June 8, 2011 / 4:11 am

    I reviewed Jen Lancaster’s fiction debut, If You Were Here and enjoyed it!

Comments are closed.