#BookReview: Combatting Fear by Sandy Vaile

combatting fearSummary:

How far would you go to save a child that wasn’t yours?

Mild-mannered kindergarten teacher Neve Botticelli leads a double life. Thanks to a childhood tragedy and her paranoid father, she’s a trained warrior with extreme survival skills who lives off the grid.

When self-made billionaire Micah Kincaid storms into town in search of his son, Rowan, he’s pushy, entitled, and stands for everything she despises. Micah can’t believe a kindergarten teacher is barring the way to him getting crucial information or even just a glimpse of the boy his cheating ex kidnapped. They share only one thing in common: either will do anything to protect the four-year-old, who they soon discover is being held for ransom by an outlaw motorcycle gang.

But as they work together to get Rowan back, they start to see beyond each other’s masks. Could falling in love be even more dangerous than hunting down deadly criminals?

Review:

This book had a lot more than I was expecting at first glance. From a main character with a double life to a child kidnapping and a ransom act, there was a lot of action right from the start. Of course there is a healthy dose of romance as well, with both characters bringing a lot of issues to the table and both needing to work through them – for themselves and each other. The writing was fast-paced and at times I could feel myself holding my breath. Very strong read!

4 stars

sandy vaile.jpgAuthor Bio

I’m Sandy and my motto in life is…

I’ll try anything once 

To that end, I take every opportunity that presents and have a wealth of life experiences to draw on when writing.

These include  riding a motorbike, skydiving, hot air ballooning, getting tattoos, swimming with sharks and turtles, and having the privilege to carry the Olympic flame.

The common denominator in my stories is courageous, gritty heroines who don’t especially need the strong heroes who sweep them off their feet, but when they do find Mr. Right, they’re not afraid to hold on tight.

My love of adventure and action sports started early, with 3-day eventing horses and cross-country running. Living in Papua New Guinea as a child meant lots of water sports, outdoor living and learning the local Pigeon English.

o   Stay in touch with Sandy Vaile via her website, Facebook or Twitter.

o   Buy “Combatting Fear” here…

GIVEAWAY! 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

CLP Blog Tours
 

 

#BookReview: Cards From Khloe’s Flower Shop by Isabella Louise Anderson

cardsSummary:

As the owner of a successful florist shop, Khloe Harper trusts her instincts. She has a strong bond with her family and friends, but after being betrayed by her last love, she’s kept herself at arms’ length from romance. When dashing entertainment attorney Derek Thomas walks into her store, Khloe’s interest is piqued. What at first seems like a business relationship quickly turns into romance, and Derek slowly plucks away the petals she’s been hiding behind. Just as Khloe lets down her guard, she discovers that Derek may not be worthy of her love after all.

Frumpy Connie Albright has a faux fascination with an imaginary man named Walt, thinking that by sending herself flowers from him she’ll feel less out-of-place with the “mean girls” she works with. When she comes face to face with her possible prince charming and thinking she might have a happy ending, when a truth is revealed, she wonders if she’ll ever have a Cinderella story.

A recently widowed senior, Gabby Lewis, isn’t ready to give up on love—which means releasing herself from survivor’s guilt and taking a chance on finding happiness and companionship again. After signing up for an online dating site for senior citizens, much to her surprise, she’s matched with Harry, an energetic and loving man, who quickly eases himself into her heart. Will Gabby take the leap of falling in love again, knowing it’s possible to have two loves of her life?

As each woman’s story develops through flowers and cards sent from Khloe’s shop during the Fall months, they begin to learn that love can only truly blossom when you trust your heart.

Review:

I am always happy to read a sweet story, and that is just what I thought of Cards From Khloe’s Flower Shop. Engaging, heart-warming, and full of romance, this one is bound to please readers. I thought it was so interesting to see how Khloe, Connie and Gabby intersect with one another, and I loved the cards and little messages that were sprinkled throughout. I also immediately fell in love with the beautiful book cover, which just tied everything together. Definitely a must read for 2017!

5 stars

isabellAuthor Bio

Isabella grew up with a book in her hand, and to this day nothing has changed. She focuses her time on featuring other writers on her blog, Chick Lit Goddess, along with organizing Goddess Book Tours, and is a member of the Romance Writers of America.

She lives in Dallas with her husband, enjoys spicy Mexican food, margaritas, gin on the rocks (with a splash of lime). She loves spending time with family and friends and cheering on the Texas Rangers. Not only is Isabella an author, she’s also a Scentsy consultant and hoarder.

 

Isabella is the author of The Right Design and Cards From Khloe’s Flower Shop. Her short story, “Meet Me Under the Mistletoe,” was featured in Simon & Fig’s Christmas anthology, Merry & Bright. She’s currently working on another book.
Author Links

Website/CLG: https://chicklitgoddess.com
Website: http://www.isabellalouiseanderson.com
Facebook/ILA: https://www.facebook.com/Isabella-Louise-Anderson-Author-253277964716883/Facebook/CLG: https://www.facebook.com/chicklitgoddess/?fref=tsTwitter/ILA: https://twitter.com/ILA121209
Twitter/CLG: https://twitter.com/ChickLitGoddess Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/chicklitgoddess/
Snapchat username: mrsanderson1981

Book Links

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Isabella-Louise-Anderson/e/B00IWCNQFO/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1
Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/isabella+louise+anderson?_requestid=117584
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/dashboard

GET THE RIGHT DESIGN FOR 99 CENTS~ 

GIVEAWAY!
a Rafflecopter giveaway



CLP Blog Tours

#BookReview: The Young Wives Club by Julie Pennell

the young wives clubSummary:

In Toulouse, Louisiana finding your one true love happens sometime around high school. If you’re lucky, he might be the man you thought he was. But as four friends are about to find out, not every girl has luck on her side in this charming debut novel perfect for fans of The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood and Desperate Housewives. 

Laura Landry’s quarterback husband was her ticket out of Toulouse. But when a devastating football injury sidelines him, they’re forced to move back to the small town she was so desperate to leave. As Brian starts drinking instead of rehabbing his knee, Laura must reevaluate what her future looks like…and if it includes her husband.

For years, Madison Blanchette has been waiting for bad-boy musician Cash Romero to commit to her. When wealthy George Dubois asks her out, she figures she may as well wait in style. Life with George means weekend trips to New Orleans, gourmet meals, and expensive gifts. At first she loves how George’s affection sparks Cash’s jealousy, but when George proposes to Madison, she finds herself torn between two men…

All Claire Thibodeaux wants is to be the perfect wife and mother. If she can do everything right she won’t end up like her mom, a divorced, single parent trying to make ends meet. But when Claire’s husband Gavin, a well-respected local pastor, starts spending late nights at work and less time in their bed, she can’t help but fear that history is about to repeat itself…

Gabrielle Vaughn never thought she’d end up with someone like her fiancé. The son of a prominent congressman, Tony Ford is completely out of her league—which is why she lied to him about everything from having a college degree to the dark truth about her family. She knows she has to come clean, but how do you tell the love of your life that your entire relationship is a lie?

As these young wives come together to help each other through life, love, and heartbreak, they discover that there are no easy answers when it comes to matters of the heart.

Review:

I was instantly intrigued by this story. Not only was the cover freaking adorable, but I don’t read a lot of stories featuring the ages of our main characters – very early twenties – and right now I find that age group still very relatable. On a whole, I could say I loved this book. Snappy writing, interesting plot points, drama and suspense and wonderful friendships. Each woman’s story interested me, each I thought was quite strong. The only niggle that got me was – I felt like at times marriage was not held in high regard. As someone who is a wife, I take marriage quite seriously. There was often times where the terms “break up” was used in regards to a separation or divorce, and when hard times came around, there wasn’t enough emphasis on how to work through the issues, it was just to break up, and that made me really sad.  Definitely everyone has a different situation and each marriage is very different, but once I realized that was a theme of this story, I could no longer I say I loved this story. I still really enjoyed it and perhaps if you don’t think too hard about each of the situations you could love it, but overall it was a good read.

4 stars